Recipes · things around home · tutorials

When the Raspberries are on Sale

 

 

raspberries top view

 

About this time of year organic raspberries seem to go on a massive sale at Whole Foods. I just so happened to hit the time right and scooped up six cartons of these ruby-red, juicy, bundles of sweetness.

Once I was home, unpacking my groceries, I thought to myself what in the world did I do buying so many for just the two of us! I always find it hard to resist a great sale, don’t you? We did down two cartons on our morning cereal and ate them straight out of the colander. I knew I could freeze the remaining, but that isn’t too fun.

So, I decided to make some 5 Minute Raspberry Jam and Raspberry Muffins. The inspiration for the jam came from Happy Healthy Mama.  Thank you!

It’s made with chia seeds like this blackberry jam I shared with you way back when.  While chia seed jam has been around for a while, it’s a keeper… perfectly healthy, fast, and this recipe makes about 12 ounces…enough for the two of us to enjoy for the week.

I tweaked the recipe a bit, adding more raspberries to my liking …

raspberry 5 minute jam

5 Minute Raspberry Jam

  • 2 and 1/2 cups of the freshest raspberries
  • 2 TBSP Chia Seeds
  • 2 TBSP warm water
  • 2 TBSP honey
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla
  • Freshly Chopped Raspberries (optional if you like chunky jam)

I put all the above ingredients in my NutriBullet and pulsed very quickly (only a few seconds). Add to pulsed jam, about a dozen freshly chopped raspberries to make the jam chunky and more raspberry-ie (that’s my new word 😉 ). Then pour jam into an airtight container and place in refrigerator at least an hour.  When ready to serve, give it a stir, and place in your prettiest jar. It is best to keep refrigerated and eat within the week. Really it is best to eat within a few days, which won’t be a problem to do.

 

I put the jam in my Irish Nanny’s vintage jar, which I believe to be about 70-90 years old or more!

Nanny's jam jar

I vaguely remember visiting her as a little girl and this jar being on her linen covered table, along with tea, and all kinds of wonderful things to nibble. Sadly, she passed away when I was almost 8yrs.old, but I’m so glad I have these memories, and her beautiful jar to enjoy.

You can see the Celtic knot influence on the spoon below…

Nanny's celtic spoon and vintage jam jar

…which on the back says, “Made in the Republic of Ireland E.P.N.S.”

The “EPNS” stands for “Electro Plated Nickel Silver.” Nickel Silver is the base metal onto which silver is plated. It was called “German Silver”  in England until World War I, and was called “Nickel Silver” after that time. Despite the name, nickel silver contains no silver at all, but is an alloy of Nickel, Zinc & Copper.

I just thought we might need to know that in case we’re ever on Jeopardy  😉

Back to the jam…

It’s great on bagels, over ice cream or yogurt, or for a healthier choice, atop these…

healthy eating Raspberry Muffins

My Healthy Eating Raspberry Muffins

Preheat oven to 350 degrees

Makes about a baker’s dozen

  • 1 Cup Super Fine Almond Flour (I use Red Mill)
  • 1 1/4 cups oat flour (I use GF oats finely ground into a flour)
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • healthy dash of nutmeg (about 1/4 tsp)
  • 1 tsp pure vanilla
  • 1/4 cup canola oil
  • 1/2 cup pure maple syrup (the real stuff)
  • 4 egg whites
  • Small carton of fresh raspberries (I use organic 6 oz. carton)
  • fine sugar to sprinkle on top

Mix all your dry ingredients together. Then add your wet ingredients, and mix until all is blended. Fold in raspberries and scoop about 1/4 cup into lined muffin cups, depending on the size of your tin. Sprinkle top with fine sugar and bake in center of oven for about 18- 20 minutes until golden brown on the outside and tender on the inside.

~

I top mine with a dollop of the above raspberry jam, fresh raspberries, and a sprinkle of powdered sugar.

It’s a Healthy YUM!

raspberry muffin in a teacup

Hmmmmm, I’m all out of raspberries now. I’ll have to head back to Whole Foods and see if there are any more on sale!

 

 

 

 

*This is not a paid endorsement for Whole Foods

 

 

4 thoughts on “When the Raspberries are on Sale

    1. You don’t like raspberries!!! Im not sure I knew that! How about blackberries? That jam is a yummy recipe too. 😊 I haven’t made it yet, but there are similar strawberry jam recipes, that look as easy and delicious. I like it because not only does it taste fresh, have higher protein and less sugar, but the processing doesn’t take so much time making a ton of jars.

      I haven’t used that vintage jar in years, so it was fun to pull it out. It hold such sweet memories.❤

Post a Comment...

