Recipes · tutorials

Homemade Truffles-Trader Joe’s Style

It’s been a busy week since we’ve been back. We had a fantastic time staying with our daughter’s fiance’s family over the Thanksgiving weekend.  We know it’s a rare gift to get along and really enjoy each other…something I hope we never take for granted. What a blessed addition to our family!

I had scheduled a Thanksgiving post for my blog, but apparently there was a glitch and it never posted last Thursday. Sorry. 😦  Sometimes technology can be so frustrating!

I hope you had a blessed time wherever you spent Thanksgiving, and thank you…

to all  who follow my blog, leave comments, and stop in for a visit.

I’m so thankful for you!

OK, on to the truffles…

Tomorrow is our Ladies Christmas Tea at church and the week has been full with all kinds of last minute details.

One is making these truffles…

collages-203

I’ve made these three ingredient chocolate truffles now for several years and they are always a huge hit wherever I take them.

Our tea will be a brunch and everyone knows starting off the morning with chocolate is the right thing to do ;).

Truffles sound difficult, but these are the absolute easiest to make. Plus they are amazing, rich little bites of happiness. You must try them!

Thank you Donnells family for the original inspiration!

While I use the same basic ingredients listed in the original recipe, I use only Trader Joe’s products, so I have named mine …

collages-202

Creamy Cocoa Truffle Joe Joe’s

Ingredients:   ( Makes 85   1″ Truffles)

1 Box Trader Joe’s Joe-Joe’s Chocolate Vanilla Creme Cookies

1 Block- 8 ounce Trader Joe’s Cream Cheese

1 Pound Plus Dark Chocolate Bar

Instructions:

Place entire box of Joe-Joe’s cookies in a ziploc bag and beat until crumbly. I like to use a meat tenderizer.

collages-206

Then, mix in cream cheese block thoroughly, until it is well blended. I use my stand mixer.I was going to add a picture, but it’s not very pretty. Just mix all together until it looks like cookie dough. The picture above is before mixing in the cream cheese.

Using 1 teaspoon, measure out mixture and roll into balls. Place on parchment paper lined cookie sheet.

collages-205

It will depend on how large you make them as to how many you will end up with.  If you roll them using 1 teaspoon, you should get about 85 truffles…that is if you don’t eat any along the way.

As I was rolling them out, I couldn’t help remembering back to that hilarious  I Love Lucy episode when she and Ethel were working in the chocolate factory and things got out of hand. Here it is. It’s always good for a laugh!

Then cover with plastic wrap and place the cookie sheet in the refrigerator until firm. I have left mine in for as little as 1 hour or overnight.

When you are ready to cover them in chocoalte, break up your chocolate bar and melt it in a glass bowl in the microwave. I think the key to these tasting fantastic is TJ’s  dark, rich, chocolate Pound Plus Candy Bar. The chocolate is from Belgium and we all know they can make chocolate.

Melt 1/4th to 1/3rd of the bar at a time quickly in the microwave, being careful not to cook the chocolate. You should use about 3/4th of the candy bar.  Mix with a spoon until creamy. Then quickly dip your refrigerated truffles into the chocolate until fully covered. I do one or two at a time. Place back on the cookie sheet. Let them sit until firm before covering. Place in refrigerator until ready to serve.

collages-204

Arrange on a pretty plate or in a box.

I like to put mine in Wilton’s Mini Party Cups for easier serving.

Make these for your next gathering, office party, neighbors, or kid’s teachers.

They’ll ABSOLUTELY LOVE them!

*Trader Joe’s has not compensated me in anyway to promote their products.

2 thoughts on “Homemade Truffles-Trader Joe’s Style

Post a Comment...

