Before & After · tutorials

Update on Keeping Those Autumn Mums Alive!

collages-119

It’s been almost a month since I came across this watering tip from, Time with Thea, to help keep my autumn mums alive. I know that doesn’t seem like a very long time, but trust me, it was long enough for me to kill them! I have a thing with keeping plants alive in pots. In the ground, I usually have no problem, in pots, they have a slim chance of survival in my care.

But despite my lack of green thumbness…

The watering tip was a success! It watered deeply, and kept me from over-watering, causing those nasty stains on the patio.

To complicate matters though, we had two Humongous rain storms with hurricane force winds shortly after I planted them! You know the type where the wind changes every direction in a split second and you have to secure small dogs and children for fear they will be blown away!

Β In all fairness, I’m not sure the outcome can be fully appreciated, but I’m sure the watering tip helped keep them alive!

See what I mean…

 

collages-121

Those storms really whipped my plants around, but I’m happy they survived, though they have the windblown look, like a bad hair day!

collages-122

Even though they’ve lost their pretty round shape, they really are still quite beautiful, and still producing buds!

collages-120

I plan on using Thea’s tip again on my spring and summer plantings.

Hopefully, the wind will be gentler on them!

Thanks Thea!

~

How about you?

Share if you have tried her watering tip with success.

2 thoughts on “Update on Keeping Those Autumn Mums Alive!

  1. good review! i’ve yet to buy a pot of mums (my favorite flower)
    this season . . will be heading to costco for 1 or 3 and will
    most certainly try the watering method. πŸ™‚

Post a Comment...

