DIY · Recipes

Are You Zoodling?

Collages-013

 

Ok, so maybe not all the veggies in the above photo can be zoodled, but they sure are pretty.  What a variety of colors and tastes that God has created for our health and enjoyment! I think food should not only taste good, but look pretty in its presentation. Wouldn’t you agree?  I decided to get in on the zoodle craze.  Have you seen all the zoodle recipes showing up on Pinterest?  Apparently, you can get zoodle makers in all shapes, sizes, and costs. I decided to opt for a small handheld one from Amazon called the ZoodleChef  (neither ZoodleChef or Amazon are paying me to endorse their product). It got 4.6 out of 5 stars, and at $12.99 it wasn’t a huge expense to try zoodling.  Some zoodle makers costs four times that for those serious zoodlers  ;).  Mine arrived in the mail last week and it’s a small handheld twisting device with two sharp blades. One makes spiralized noodles and the other thin chips. It also comes with the cutest little scrub brush for easy clean up. Since this was my first time using it, I can’t attest to the longevity of this little kitchen gadget, but I think it will definitely be worth the use I do get out of it.

Collages-011

 

The box had a link to downloadable instructions and recipes.  Apparently, you can zoodle carrots, courgettes (fancy name for zucchini…I didn’t know that either 🙂 ), sweet and regular  potatoes, cucumbers, butternut squash, beetroot, eggplant, apples, and pears. I chose zucchini and sweet potatoes. I stuck to my own simple recipe as I wanted to see what my zoodle maker could do.

In a splash of olive oil, I sautéed about 1/4 of a red onion and a clove of minced garlic until tender about 1-2 minutes. I added my zucchini and sweet potato zoodles, and tossed with a pinch of salt and cracked pepper. After about only two minutes cooking, I served it on the side with grilled salmon. It was that easy!  The zoodles had a little crunch, but I didn’t want to over cook them.

Collages-012

I can’t wait to try a few of these recipes I’ve found, Kung Pao Chicken Zoodles, Pesto Zucchini Noodle Roasted Tomatoes with Chicken, and Cilantro Garlic Lime Chicken with Zoodles.

 Have you been zoodling?  If so, I’d love to hear your recipe!

 

 

Kindly Comment...

