Pin It! Tried and True Tuesday! · Recipes

Pin It! Tried and True Tuesday # 27: Apple Butter Made Too Easy

SONY DSC

This apple butter recipe from Changing My Destiny {originally from Cake Student} caught my eye as I was searching for something fall-like to eat! In fact, I’m having this on top of warm toast as I type. This really couldn’t get any easier to make. It’s an especially great recipe if you work and have limited time to prep. Also, this would be a taste of home for students in dorm rooms {if you are allowed to have a crockpot}. You could bless your entire wing with the smells of fall and make new friends!

SONY DSC

Here is what I did:

  • Followed this recipe.
  • I used Gala apples.
  • By 9:30 PM my crockpot was warming {on low} with the apples and spices. It cooked all night.
  • At 8:00 AM I turned it on high for about an hour, then cooled it a bit before whipping.
  • Taking half the mixture at a time, I whipped it in my NutriBullet.

Helpful Hints:

  • I used a rounded tsp. and cup {as per suggestion} for my spices and brown sugar.
  • The color and sweetness of your butter will vary depending on your apples and darkness of your brown sugar.
  • This took me about 15 minutes to prep and had a cooking time of about 11.5 hours. I probably could have cooked it longer, but my apples were already broken down and thickened.
  • This made 1 pint.
  • Next time I will try adding a healthy dash of nutmeg.
  • It is recommended this be kept in the refrigerator up to 10 days, but may last up to three weeks. Changing My Destiny says that she divides and freezes part of her recipe.
  • If you don’t have an immersion blender or NutriBullet, try using a regular blender or food processor. If you want, you can leave it chunky too.

~ It’s a delicious taste of Autumn ~

Post a Comment...

