DIY

A Small Vignette for Autumn

I’ve been playing around with decorating my home for autumn.  I’m not one to go out and buy a bunch of seasonal decor, because the issue is, where in the world are we going to store all this stuff? Using what I have and natural elements, is the route I typically take.

So, I came up with this fast and simple fall vignette.

It took me about 5 minutes and that included finding the Spanish moss!

SONY DSC

To construct, I simply used books that I had previously “made” with used paperbacks from the thrift store. I carefully ripped off the front and back covers making sure not to tear the binding. Then I tied them with jute string. I usually get mine from Lowes or Home Depot. It is about $2.00 for 190 feet!  Though, be careful not to get the twine soaked in chemicals as it can have a strong, nasty smell. I have a number of these book stacks decorating my home. They’re fast, easy, and inexpensive.

The gorgeous patina cup was my mother’s vintage baby cup. It’s silver plated and I dare not polish it.  I’m not sure if this was something she drank out of as a toddler on special occasions, or what the story is behind it. Wish I could ask her now.

I stuffed a bit of Spanish moss and a Gala apple in the cup and there you have it! 

*If you don’t have a vintage baby cup laying around (few people probably do)

“shop” every room of your home and reuse something fun and unexpected.

I

4 thoughts on “A Small Vignette for Autumn

  1. What a great idea, I was just thinking the other day in regards to changing decor for each season, where would you store each season’s items.

Kindly Comment...

