Before & After · painting projects · Pin It! Tried and True Tuesday!

Pin It! Tried and True Tuesday #25: Giving a Vintage Look to a Clearance Find

SONY DSC

Pin It! Tried and True Tuesday # 25

Giving New Life to A Clearance Find

…using…

Miss Mustard Seed Milk Paint

Shopping to me always means making time for checking out the clearance aisles.  You never know what gem you may find! Earlier this summer, I was in Home Goods and came across this card file that looked distressed… emphasis on the “stressed” part. Most likely, it had been shuffled around to quite a few places, before hopelessly landing on a shelf, buried among other last chance items.  I’ve been wanting a card file for Our Little Vacation Cabin in the Big Woods, which we are slowly remodeling. For only $15, I knew I wanted to give it new life.

the uncommon pearl

It was pretty dented and scratched and sad-looking…

SONY DSC

I had some Miss Mustard Seed Paint, which by the way, is my new love paint!  This stuff is so fun to work with and comes in powder form, so it has a long shelf life.  It is similar in some ways to Annie Sloan Chalk Paint, but also has some differences.  Here is a link discussing Chalk Paint vs. Milk Paint  .  If you haven’t worked with MMS Milk Paint yet, you’re in for a real treat. It is amazing stuff and allows you to get a Vintage, Farmhouse, French, Industrial, Shabby, European, Antique, or Weathered look. It really is that versatile  and so easy to work with! Everything you ever wanted to know about it, is found here.

Here is what I did:

  • I decided on Typewriter color without bonding agent which gave it this really chippy look.
  • I used wood filler in the bottom chip under the middle drawer. After drying, I lightly sanded it.
  • Then I wiped it down to clean off all the dust.
  • I mixed the paint per the instructions, and painted it twice, with a fast drying time between coats.
  • It wasn’t too long when it started “naturally” chipping on its own.
  • I carefully wiped off the excess chunks of paint.
  • I made some quick “Odds & Ends” signs for the drawers. I think I’ll make more, but these are fine for now.

Helpful Hints:

  • If you prefer not to allow the paint to chip, wherever and whenever it wants, then use the bonding agent. This will allow you to get a smooth finish and give you the option of distressing it how and where you want. Again, the website listed above will explain all you need to know about her paint, and all the products you can use to achieve different looks and finishes.
  • MMS recommends, when a painted piece chips a lot, and continues to chip, to coat it with MMS Tough Coat. The only store in my area carrying MMS Milk Paint, does not carry this produce, so, I need to order it online and give this a final finish.
  • You will want to follow the instructions for mixing the paint exactly as the instructions state.  It is especially important to allow the paint to sit for about 10 minutes after mixing and before painting your piece. This allows the pigments to fully dissolve and obtain a creamy consistency.

SONY DSCThis incredibly unique paint comes in a myriad of beautiful colors. Depending on how much water you add, you can achieve a solid colored paint, stain, or wash. You also don’t need to prime and there are no VOCs. Because it comes in powder form, you can mix just enough for your project without wasting paint or dealing with storage and drying out. I love this paint!

SONY DSC

You’ve got to give this paint a try.  I guarantee you’ll be looking for more projects to give new life!

4 thoughts on “Pin It! Tried and True Tuesday #25: Giving a Vintage Look to a Clearance Find

  1. The shop I work at will soon be carrying MMS products and offering classes in addition to continuing as an ASCP stockist. I’m looking forward to learning more about the MMS style .. Thanks for sharing your project – it turned out beautifully!

Post a Comment...

