Pin It! Tried and True Tuesday! · Recipes

Pin It! Tried and True Tuesday # 23: Crispy “B” Hold the “T”

SONY DSC

Pin It! Tried and True Tuesday # 23

Oven Baked Bacon

~

BLT Bowl

~

*And an Inspirational Feast with Friends Involving Bacon Candy *

We aren’t big bacon eaters, so when we do, it is a big treat. This week I tried two different recipes all centered around bacon. Yes, that wonderfully, yummy, stuff that makes anything and everything taste deliciously good.  It all started several weeks ago, when my friend over at {and wear} pearls shared her amazing feast with friends revolving around… you got it, bacon.  It wasn’t just any bacon, but bacon candy! I tried her recipe the day she posted it  {sorry, no pictures because it was gone before I could break out the camera!}. It was like nothing we’ve ever tasted.  Truly, it was bacon candy and worth every deliciously sweet, smoky, caloric bite! Try some for yourself, but beware, you’ll want more! You can get the recipe and see her scrumptiously delicious feast with friends here.

*Back to the Oven Baked Bacon and BLT Bowl*

{Sorry, I got sidetracked by the memory of that amazing bacon candy}

I have seen pins for simple oven baked bacon for quite some time, but never tried it until recently. It couldn’t be easier, cleaner, and lower prep thanks to King Arthur!

Here is what I did:

Helpful Hints:

  • Parchment paper makes for very easy cleanup and you will have flat strips of bacon.
  • This is a great way to cook several pieces to a pound of bacon all at once while you are preparing the rest of your meal.
  • This is not the least caloric way (however, it is bacon after all!) as it will be cooking in its own grease.
  • My bacon took a total of 30 minutes from start to finish. This will vary depending on your oven and bacon thickness.
  • I was surprised to see this DID NOT make a splattered mess in my oven. Not having to do extra cleaning is a good thing!

With all this bacon on hand, I was going to make BLT’s, but found I was completely out of bread, so I decided to try this BLT Bowl form The Londoner using my crispy “B” hold the “T.”

SONY DSC

Here is what I did:

SONY DSC

Helpful Hints:

  • The dressing measurements are somewhat vague, so you will need to play with the taste to your personal liking.
  • I can see using other dressings of choice with this salad. We personally like a sweeter dressing like this quick and easy vinaigrette from Chef Jaime Carmody
  • Hmmm, I wonder how the bacon candy would work in this recipe? Need I ask?
  • This recipe makes a healthy serving for 4-5 people.
  • From start to finish the salad {not including cooking the bacon} takes about 10 minutes to prepare.

Why not make your own Bacon Candy, BLT Bowls, and Share it with Friends? Three wins!

~

2 thoughts on “Pin It! Tried and True Tuesday # 23: Crispy “B” Hold the “T”

  1. you’re sweet .. thanks for sharing the link to my blog. 🙂 your salad looks really delicious!!! i’ll be preparing about 30 pounds of oven bacon then freezing it .. soon. for an october event that won’t have adequate space or time to prepare the meat. more on that another time… 🙂

Post a Comment...

