DIY · Pin It! Tried and True Tuesday! · tutorials

Pin It! Tried and True Tuesday # 21: Tea, It’s More Than for Drinking

SONY DSC

Pin It! Tried and True Tuesday # 21

Tea Dyeing Doilies

I’ve tea dyed fabric before, but thin paper doilies? It works! Thanks to the inspiration from Pen & Paper Flowers.  I’m already thinking ahead to holiday décor and these couldn’t be easier.

Here is what I did:

  • Followed this tutorial exactly
  • I dyed 6, 8, and 10 inch round doilies
  • I used black tea bags and steeped some doilies for 15 minutes, 30 minutes, and overnight.

SONY DSC

Helpful Hints:

  • I used the largest pots I own (2 stockpots)
  • It is very important to cool your tea completely.  I let mine sit on the top of the stove for three hours before placing in the doilies.
  • I ran out of space to dry them, so I used bowls and cookie sheets. Once almost dry in the bowls, I set them on cookie sheets to flatten and dry completely.
  • Some may stick together in the dyeing process. Check periodically to see that the doilies are evenly getting dyed.
  • I used my hands to remove them from the tea dye. If needed, peel apart carefully.
  • A few of mine had some darker spotting/mottling in areas (from sticking together), but I think this adds to the vintage look.

 These are super easy and inexpensive, especially if you get packaged doilies from the Dollar Store. Keep in mind the Dollar Store doilies may be thinner than most.

*If you do find your doilies tear, for whatever reason, you may try dyeing 2 thicknesses of doilies instead of one. It will depend on the quality of your doilies. The KEY is to allow your tea to completely be cool to cold in temperature before sticking your doilies in the tea dye.

~

 

They’re great for  Shabby Chic, French, Vintage, or Farmhouse Style, and crafting too.  Thanks Pen & Paper Flowers for the inspiration! 

2 thoughts on “Pin It! Tried and True Tuesday # 21: Tea, It’s More Than for Drinking

Post a Comment...

