DIY · Pin It! Tried and True Tuesday! · sewing projects

Pin It! Tried and True Tuesday # 17: Repurposing a Vintage Pillowcase

SONY DSC

Pin It! Tried and True Tuesday # 17

10 Minute Vintage Pillowcase Apron

Have you ever received a “just because” gift? I have!  A friend made me one of these Vintage Pillowcase Aprons a while back and I love it. It is so soft and has many uses: crafting, cleaning, gardening, or use it for keeping track of money at your next yard sale. It has great deep pockets which makes it helpful for straightening the house. I don’t know how this happens 😉 but inevitably things upstairs always find their way downstairs and vice versa.

It comes together in such a fast and ingenious way. The tutorial is found here on Betz White.  Thanks Betz for a useful and creative way to repurpose a vintage pillow case. I’ll be making more of these in the future!

Here is what I did:

  • Followed the tutorial
  • Added a bit of extra ribbon to trim out the pocket
  • Embellished the pocket with a floral pin (removable for washing)

Helpful Hints:

  • Your vintage pillowcase may not be completely “square.”  Ironing during the sewing process will help.
  • Adding the extra ribbon trim (as I did) will also help if your ends don’t match exactly.
  • This really does take only 10 minutes!  With the addition of ribbon and embellishments you will need to add a few extra minutes.

I think I will carry on the “just because I love you” gifting.

This apron will be finding new purpose soon in the hands of another.

~

3 thoughts on “Pin It! Tried and True Tuesday # 17: Repurposing a Vintage Pillowcase

  1. oh my goodness how creative is that?! and beautiful .. i love roses.
    someone will be mightily blessed by your handiwork. i love your idea
    of “paying it forward.” hugs to you.

    1. She is so creative and has lots of other great projects too. It’s worth checking her website. I’m going to give this tomorrow, in person, to a special someone ;). So excited to visit her little corner of the world. love to you, my friend.

Kindly Comment...

