Pin It! Tried and True Tuesday! · Recipes

Pin It! Tried and True Tuesday #16: Dessert for Breakfast!

Last week I shared with you a deliciously, wonderful  homemade Blackberry Chia Jam recipe from The Kitchn.  While it’s tasty over ice cream, on toast or bagels, mixed with yogurt, or straight out of the jar, I wanted to make something really special for  breakfast.  So, I decided to make these Gluten- Free Crepes from Zerrin on Give Recipe.  You don’t have to be gluten free to enjoy these!  The recipe isn’t difficult when following a few helpful hints.

SONY DSC

Here is what I did:

  • I used Bob Mills Rice Flour
  • In addition, I added Almond Milk to make them dairy free, but you can use regular milk if desired.
  • I used canola oil instead of olive oil. This is my own preference. When using high temperatures, I like canola oil better than olive oil.

Helpful Hints:

  • I used an 8″ skillet which has a 6″ base.
  • I needed to re-oil the pan every third crepe or so, not every time.
  • When bubbles form evenly across the crepe (1-2 minutes depending on gas verse electric range) then flip
  • When using almond milk you may need to add more than the recipe calls for. I added about 1/4 cup more. You want a thinner (very thin) batter than regular pancakes.
  • These were easier to roll once cooled.
  • Once completely cooled, they store nicely in the fridge wrapped in parchment or wax paper and placed in a Ziploc bag.
  • My recipe yielded 11-12 crepes. I lost proper count because one may have been eaten during the cooking process 😉 .
  • Adding 1 tsp. vanilla in the batter would add a nice flavor.
  • From start to finish these take about 25-30 minutes.

SONY DSC

How I created the above Gluten-Free and Dairy-Free Crepes:

It’s like dessert for breakfast!

~

* So Delicious has not paid me to endorse their product

2 thoughts on “Pin It! Tried and True Tuesday #16: Dessert for Breakfast!

  1. oh. oh my. ooohh my. gorgeous breakfast. thank you for the recipe – i haven’t made crepes in years. using your suggestion of ingredients (almond milk and such) i’m planning to try this, this week. Clark will love it.

    1. Who doesn’t like dessert for breakfast! Depending on what you fill yours with…savory or sweet… I would add the tsp. vanilla for some added flavor. That is if you are going sweet 😉 Hope you are feeling better!

Kindly Comment...

