Pin It! Tried and True Tuesday! · Recipes

Pin It! Tried and True Tuesday #15: Quick Jam

SONY DSC

Pin It! Tried and True Tuesday # 15

Blackberry Chia Jam

I love all the fresh berries this time of year, don’t you? I picked up some organic blackberries on sale and made this quick, easy, and great tasting Blackberry Chia Jam from The Kitchn. While this isn’t a jam that will store for months, it is so easy, takes only five ingredients, and is made one jar at a time. There is no pectin used because the chia seeds help set the jam and increase the nutritional factor.

SONY DSC

Here is what I did:

  • Followed the recipe and used a peach as my option instead of a nectarine

Helpful Hints:

  • My cooking time was a bit longer (5-7 minutes). It took a little longer to smash the blackberries.  I may have been distracted.  🙂
  • I added 2 and 1/ 2 – 3 Tbsp honey for sweetness since my peach wasn’t too sweet.
  • I used a heaping cup of blackberries.
  • Start to finish (not including cooling time), it takes about 12-15 minutes to make.
  • I haven’t tried freezing it, but a commenter on The Kitchn said that she froze her jam for 5 days and thawed it in the refrigerator. She found it was better than the first day.
  • I cooled mine at room temperature, then placed in a jar, and chilled well. It sets up better after fully chilling.
  • I was able to fill a pint mason jar with my jam.

Try this on vanilla ice cream, yogurt, or over pancakes.

Thanks to The Kitchn for this recipe.

Give it a try. It is so delicious!

7 thoughts on “Pin It! Tried and True Tuesday #15: Quick Jam

  1. I found the recipe on thekitchn as well, but saw yours has been comment on and updated recently. I would like to know if you could use something other than a peach or nectarine. I am allergic to peaches and their family. I want to try this recipe, but I have no idea how it would turn out without it.

    1. I have only used a peach or nectarine. I think they give body to the jam as well as sweetness. You may try adding a bit more honey for the sweetness. I wonder if adding an apple would work, as well. Let me know if you try any of the above and how it turns out. Thanks for leaving a comment. I am sure others may have this same allergy issue and were wondering.

Post a Comment...

