Pin It! Tried and True Tuesday! · Recipes

Pin It! Tried and True Tuesday #7: It’s the Sauce that Makes It!

SONY DSC

Pin It! Tried and True Tuesday # 7

Tartar Sauce

OK, maybe tartar sauce is not that exciting, but I like trying new things that bring a change to the ordinary. I’ve bought tartar sauce, maybe, twice in two decades. My Sweetheart likes it, but somehow, I never think about buying it. In the times ( 2X’s 😉 ) I have purchased it, it seems like it went bad before he could finish the bottle. So, with the plan to make salmon patties this week, I thought why not try a tartar sauce recipe and surprise him with something he loves. This tartar sauce from Living Nutrition was a winner!  He did love it and instead of me squeezing lemon over my patties, I enjoyed the new taste too.

SONY DSC

Here is what I did:

  • Google what crème fraiche was because I had no clue!
  • Used sour cream instead of crème fraiche.  I used a non-dairy sour cream and increased the amount to 3 TBSP. The original recipe says you can use extra mayo instead of the crème fraiche.
  • If I were you, why not try the crème fraiche?  Even the name sounds delicious!

Helpful Hints:

  • Depending on whether you choose the crème fraiche or sour cream, you may have to play with the consistency in order for it not to be too runny.
  • This recipe is so easy and takes only 5 minutes to prepare, but chilling it for 20- 30 minutes makes it even better.
  • I had left overs and used it the next day.

As For the Salmon Patties…

Here is my Simple Recipe: Makes 4 – 3″ Patties in About 30 Minutes Start to Finish

  • About 8 oz. Freshly Cooked Salmon – I grilled mine but, you can use leftover salmon from the night before.  No canned!
  • 1/2 cup chopped green onions (I could have chopped mine smaller, but was in a bit of a hurry)
  • 1/2 cup bread crumbs (I used Trader Joe’s Organic Bread Crumbs)
  • 1 TBSP. dried parsley
  • 1/4 tsp. garlic powder
  • 2 eggs
  • A dash of sea salt and cracked pepper
  • Olive Oil

Flake your cooked salmon into a medium size bowl. Add your: chopped onions, bread crumbs, parsley, garlic, eggs, salt and pepper. Mix well using the back of a fork to crush the salmon into the other ingredients.  You should end up with a mixture that sticks together nicely into patties. If too dry, add a bit of water. Heat enough olive oil to coat the bottom of a skillet. Form mixture into patties just like you would hamburgers. Place in hot skillet of olive oil using medium heat. Cook approximately 3-5 minutes on each side until you achieve a nice golden brown.

Enjoy with Tartar Sauce!


2 thoughts on “Pin It! Tried and True Tuesday #7: It’s the Sauce that Makes It!

  1. mmm.. i have a good size piece of salmon to grill so will most definitely make your salmon cake recipe with the remaining cooked salmon. 🙂 as to tartar sauce, we love the trader joe’s style with jalapeno *so* much that i now make my own (cuz the tj’s jar is enormous and goes bad etc).. i use whole milk greek yogurt, dill pickle, scallion, cayenne, and chopped jalapeno (from a jar). that’s it. BUT. since we don’t always want the jalapeno flavor, i’ll be trying your modified recipe for tartar sauce. thank you!

    1. Your welcome! I love the idea of added jalapeno. These recipes are basic, but sometimes it’s nice to start with the basics and play around with added flavors. Hmmm, I’ll have to try that next time. Thanks for the idea!

Post a Comment...

