DIY · Pin It! Tried and True Tuesday!

Pin It! Tried and True Tuesday #6: A Gift for Gardeners

SONY DSC

Pin It! Tried and True Tuesday # 6

Gardener’s Hand Cream

~

While I don’t consider myself a “gardener,” growing results like the magazines, I do love flowers and getting out in the yard, with the attempt at keeping things green and growing! Whether it’s gardening, cooking, crafting, or life in general, I am constantly using my hands and they seem to get dry a lot.

This Gardener’s Hand Cream Recipe on Hobby Farms, originally from Jan Berry at The Nerdy Farm Wife is an effective and easy DIY recipe with only four ingredients. Give it a try!

SONY DSC

Here is What I Did:

  • Followed the recipe.
  • I used olive oil and corn starch as my options.
  • I scented mine with 10 drops of  NOW essential lavender oil purchased from a local health food store. I got it for less than the Amazon price ;).

Helpful Hints:

  • It is best to whip the shea butter very well before adding the other ingredients. I could have whipped mine longer. After all ingredients were combined, I whipped it for 10 plus minutes using a stand mixer. I stopped occasionally to scrape the sides of the bowl.
  • Using olive oil will give you a cream colored lotion and not a true white.
  • This lotion is very emollient and tends to be a bit greasy. It works especially well on hands and/or feet for nighttime use before bed.
  • To create the lotion and tag, from start to finish, took about 20 minutes.
  • There are a lot of different DIY beauty products on her website. It’s worth a look.
  • Printable labels are available. I printed mine on floral cardstock.

SONY DSC

This would make a thoughtful Mother’s Day gift too!

Kindly Comment...

