Pin It! Tried and True Tuesday! · Recipes

Pin It! Tried and True Tuesday #2: Chocolate Love

SONY DSC

Pin It! Tried and True Tuesday #2

~

Chocolate Anyone?

SONY DSC

This amazingly moist, chocolatey, decadent, flour-less cake from Fine Cooking is something special. If you love dark chocolate, you will love this cake. I have made it twice this year already!

Here is what I did:

  • I followed the recipe, but because of my dairy allergy, used Earth Balance instead of real butter. It didn’t hurt the texture or flavor one bit. I imagine real butter would make it even creamier.
  • For the melted chocolate, I used Trader Joe’s Dark Chocolate Pound Plus Bar from Belgium.  They know how to make chocolate!

Helpful Hints:

  • This cake looks hard to make but is very easy.
  • The cake would feed quite a few as it is very rich and a sliver is enough. I cut a large piece for the photo, but it did get eaten ;).
  • Don’t overcook this cake. I baked mine for 35 minutes (the recipe says 40-45 mins.) so test for doneness before baking longer.
  • I refrigerated my cake overnight before adding the chocolate ganache type frosting.
  • I dusted the top with powdered sugar and chocolate shavings…as if there wasn’t enough chocolate already!

SONY DSC

~ It’s a Chocolate Lover’s Dream ~

2 thoughts on “Pin It! Tried and True Tuesday #2: Chocolate Love

Kindly Comment...

