Pin It! Tried and True Tuesday! · Recipes · repurpose & renew · sewing projects · tutorials

Pin It! Tried and True Tuesday # 1

SONY DSC

Welcome to  Pin It! Tried and True Tuesday #1

Putting Pinterest into Practice

~  March 2015  ~

Fish Taco Bowls

GF Humming Bird Cake

Immunity Booster Smoothie

Cozy Sweater Pillow


Fish Taco Bowls

This Fish Taco Bowl is a winner from THE LIVE – KITCHEN! It’s a great choice if you want to add more fish and Omega 3 in your diet, but don’t like the taste of fish by itself.  They come together much like the “Chipotle Bowl” from Chipotle Mexican Grill, but with a healthy addition – fish. THE LIVE – IN KITCHEN adapted this recipe from Pinch of Yum.

I followed the recipe and this is now our new favorite way to eat fish!

SONY DSC


Gluten Free  and Dairy Free Hummingbird Cake

Hummingbird Cake holds a special place in my heart. It was the recipe used for my wedding cake. I made it once a year on our anniversary, minus the first year when we had the top layer of our original cake. My Mom wrapped that beautiful cake in so many layers there was no chance for freezer burn!  It was just as delicious as the first time we ate it.

Over the years,  I carried on the tradition making “our cake” for each anniversary until I found out I was allergic to dairy. The original recipe had cream cheese, butter, milk…all those things I couldn’t eat it without getting terribly sick. Sadly, the tradition died. What’s the fun of making an anniversary cake if you can’t both eat it?  We ate other things to celebrate. Then  about two years ago I experimented by limiting my wheat/gluten intake  for various health reasons and found out I felt so much better! The bottom line is, when I saw this gluten-free/dairy-free cake recipe from Let’s Be Yummy, I was so thrilled to make it for our anniversary this year! My Sweetheart doesn’t have any food allergies, and he is so good to eat whatever I make him. He especially likes anything homemade. What a guy!

Here is What I Did:

My Icing Recipe:

3/4 cup Earth Balance

1 Container Trader Joe’s Vegan Cream Cheese Alternative

3 Cups Powdered Sugar

1 TBSP Vanilla Extract

I beat the Earth Balance and the cream cheese alternative together until creamy. I added in the vanilla extract and beat again until mixed well. Then I added the powdered sugar, 1 cup at a time, until the icing was light and very fluffy. I noticed I did not need to add any additional liquid (milk alternative).  You could add almond milk if you find the consistency too thick. If too thin add more powdered sugar. I covered and placed in refrigerator until I was ready to ice my cake. (about 1 hour later).

Helpful Hints:

  • Next time I will limit my mashed bananas to 5 maybe 4 depending on the size. My cake was a bit on the very moist side.
  • I used these Bake-Even Strips  by Wilton around my cake pans for an evenly baked cake.  I did not get paid in any way to say, “I love them!”
  • This is NOT a low-calorie recipe! Since it was our anniversary, I went heavy on the icing!

SONY DSCWe both enjoyed it with a bit of milk… almond milk for me 😉

SONY DSC


Immunity Booster Smoothie

We drink a lot of smoothies and this Vitamin C Immunity Booster Smoothie is a great one thanks to mountain mama cooks. Not only does it taste good, but it gives you the added vitamin C during this lingering cold and flu season.  This would be a great drink for kids as well.

Here is what I did:

  • I followed the recipe except I used Costco’s organic frozen strawberries and Trader Joe’s frozen pineapple tidbits.
  • I didn’t have to add any ice since I used frozen fruit.

Helpful Hints:

  • I doubled the recipe and it made about 3 – 12 oz. glasses.

SONY DSC


Cozy Sweater Pillow

Repurposing a sweater into a pillow has been around for a while, but since I had almost all the supplies, and since it is still really cold outside, I decided to make one for myself. This tutorial from Stone Gable gave the inspiration for two very pretty pillows.  I chose the one with the button closure.  It costs me practically nothing except for the thread and two new buttons.  I already had an old unused cable knit sweater from my daughter, the down pillow form, snaps, and a vintage button that would work nicely from my collection. I like when projects are easy, don’t you?

Here is what I did:

  • I followed the tutorial, but had to use a hand stitch (overstitch) because my knit was not cooperating with my sewing machine.
  • My sweater did not have a ribbed edge but a rolled edge.  I decided to make a snap closure with buttons so that I can remove the cover when it needs washing.

Helpful Hints:

  • More time was needed for the hand stitching.  All and all, I got this sewn during a four-hour road trip… minus the times of eating lunch, snacking, and reading!

I used this very old vintage button with all its scratches and nicks.  Wish I had two more like it.

SONY DSC

 

And my Cozy Cable Knit Pillow…

SONY DSC

Thanks to all who have shared their inspiration on Pinterest.

I would love to hear if you have tried any of these pins for yourself!

Check back next month for more on Pin It! Tried and True Tuesday.

Post a Comment...

