DIY · sewing projects

It’s Time for Ticking Part II

I love ticking fabric. Do you?  It has an old fashion feel that works well with several different styles:  European, French, farmhouse, shabby chic and rustic. I have even seen it used in the popular industrial style.

About two and a half weeks ago I shared a sneak peek of a ticking project I was working on. Well, I have good news and bad news.  The good news is I finished 2/3rd of my project, the bad news is I ran short on fabric to finish the rest of it!  My project was to make a queen duvet cover, pillow, and café curtains for a rustic loft bedroom.

Here was my inspiration, but it was more money than I wanted to spend. So, I found my ticking on Fabric.com. They have a fantastic selection, great prices, and samples available on certain fabrics. This was my first time ordering from them and I wasn’t disappointed.

I ended up changing my original design.  Sometimes that happens, doesn’t it? After I washed the fabric the raw edge left a sweet looking fringe that I think adds to the overall style.

SONY DSC

So away I went sewing the ruffled edge thinking I was pretty smart not to have to sew a hem. Well, I ended up just shy on fabric for the duvet cover. I’m  debating now whether to order more ticking…hoping for the same dye lot or using a complementary fabric for the back.

SONY DSC

At least the pillow and curtains are finished!

SONY DSC~

Neither Ballard Designs nor Fabric.com has paid me to say nice things about them. 🙂

2 thoughts on “It’s Time for Ticking Part II

  1. well this is just simply pRetty! clean and crisp.. i love the serendipity of how you decided on the ruffles with raw edges. would love to know if this pRettiness is in a lovely location north of you..? i purchased yardage from fabric.com to make vintage trailer curtains – gorgeous cabbage rose design. they’re finished and ready to be hung.

Post a Comment...

